where to exchange? - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Members Lounge > General Travel Tips, Education, Advice > Dumb Questions for First Time Travelers

Dumb Questions for First Time Travelers Rule number one- There are no dumb questions!
First time travelers, please ask your dumb questions here=)!

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 03-30-2010, 05:45 AM   #1
juliagulia
Tpunk Senior Moderators

Send a message via AIM to juliagulia Send a message via MSN to juliagulia
Default where to exchange?

So, I am studying abroad in England and am traveling to Portugal tomorrow to visit some family. However, I'm not sure what to do about money. I have 70 GBP in cash now and already have everything bought that I need to buy. However, I'm wondering if I should still wait to exchange my money. It's money that I got as a refund from the program, so I never lost money exchanging it from dollars or anything, but I'm wondering if it would be better to exchange GBP to EUR here in the UK or wait until I'm in Lisbon. I'm buying my bus ticket online, so I won't need cash on hand until I'm actually at my aunt's place.

Also, I need to bring my laptop to get some coursework done, and I know my UK converter/adaptor/what ever the fuck it's called won't work in Europe. But someone was telling me that all of Europe doesn't use the same prong thing and that I should buy it there, not buy the European converter/adaptor/whatever, here. My laptop and battery charger are both okay in terms of the power (110~260), but do you think I should just wait to but a converter/adaptor/whatever there?

Thanks TPunks!

Living In: Belfast, Northern Ireland

Next up!

Poland (February!)
juliagulia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:08 AM   #2
Marcus Nappy
TPunk Moderator