New RTW traveler, trying to plan but need direction - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Where ya going? & Specific country info! > 'Round The World Travel
Register All Albums FAQDonate Community Calendar

'Round The World Travel Feel like conquering the world? Give us the run down, your game plan, the strategy...

Spiff is on!

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 05-24-2009, 10:46 PM   #1
canadianbunny

Smile New RTW traveler, trying to plan but need direction

I've recently made the final decision to travel. I have most of my lonely planets and right now I'm just researching the countries and finding out about places I *have* to go. This is my first time doing an independent travel, and for this long- I'm a bit stuck now as to what I should do next. Its cool to read about all these places, but how do I start doing the grunge work (I read on a thread that 6+ months of travel out of Canada can cause you to lose your health insurance?! I'm so sheltered. lol) !?

I'm giving myself 12-14 months abroad, and ideally I'd like to visit these places, in this order, and stay in them for about 4 months: Central America, South America, Australia/New Zealand (I suppose 2 months each or so) and Southeast Asia.
Is this fairly realistic/do-able? We are planning on buying cheap last minute plane tickets when we want to fly to a new continent... I've heard that RTW tickets are good but restrictive, and can be pricy. The point of my taking a year off for travel is to just be totally free from any restrictions or stresses... I'd prefer to do a sort of 'as the wind blows' travel. Again, is this realistic- something that people do?