Preparing for an extreme backpacking trip - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Where ya going? & Specific country info! > Indian Sub-Cont.

Indian Sub-Cont. From Kathmandu to Colombo, and Islamabad to Dakha, one billion smiles, treck in the Himalayas, bathe in the Ganga, dance to Hindi pop ! Namaste !

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 04-21-2006, 03:50 PM   #1
beholderseye
Members

Hello, I am Anthony, and I am a student pilot of Florida Institute of Technology. My Fiance and I are going to be getting married this summer. We are both college students, and we are both backpacking for our first time; as such, we will be getting our passports soon and buying our first backpacks. Being a pilot, my urge for adventure rivals that of Columbus, African Tribesmen, and Jules Verne combined. My future wife shares my drive, envisioning lands and people that to this point she had only dreamt about.

Therefore, as one might expect, Jennifer and I will not be dancing around Western Europe and dining on marble slabs alongside rich, well-to-do oil tycoons in Paris. Something quite different is in store for us. Among all the places in the world that beckons us, we have decided on a rudimentary itinerary. We will have a month, from June 15 to July 15, to explore a country that fills us both with mystery and intrigue: India.

We have read many books having to do with life in India. I am a sucker for cultural books, as is my fiancé. The three most inspiring cultures to us are the Arabic culture, the Indian culture, and the Chinese culture. India is her jewel, though, and nothing will stop her once she has her mind set on these sorts of things. I am likewise extraordinarily happy to go with her to India.