First Time Traveller - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Members Lounge > General Travel Tips, Education, Advice > General Travel Tips and Advice
Register All Albums FAQDonate Community Calendar

General Travel Tips and Advice Have you traveled before?- Please share your tips and advice with fellow Tpunks!

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 11-21-2005, 04:32 AM   #1
carol.
Members

Hi Everyone,
I'm doing the whole backpacking thing around europe and the end of Jan 06. Its my first time doing anything like this and my friend has just dropped out but I still really want to go even if it means going on my own... I was wondering if anyone out there could give me tips on how best to travel safely and if you could tell me how hard/lonely/scarey it is travelling on your own.... How friendly are general travellers around western europe? And are there any specific places/pubs to meet fun backpackers???
Thank you....
carol. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 06:33 AM   #2
U2fan
BONO'S LOVE SLAVE

Many people here have done trips on their own. It is very empowering and don't worry, you can meet tons of people (if you want to), especially in hostels. Backpackers in general are friendly and if you come across some who aren't, well, you don't have to hang out with them!

In terms of safety, of course you have to be careful of your stuff but most places in Europe are not any worse crime wise than you would encounter at home. In general, pickpocketing is the main thing to watch out for.

I won't lie....there are times I get lonely and wish I had someone along so when I get home there will be someone who can laugh at things that happened and fully appreciate the things I saw. But there is something so powerful about solo travel and I think it really has helped me grow as a person.

Good luck!

Metro to Ginza shopping district: 160 yen