Hostels, safety,alcohol and a long trip - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Where ya going? & Specific country info! > Canada
Register All Albums FAQDonate Community Calendar

Canada Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, french culture, hockey...Ohhhh Canada...

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 08-11-2005, 10:14 AM   #1
franky84
Members

Thumbs down

hello all!

ok im a 21yo male from sydney AUS, im gunna be travelling to canada in october staying until around august next year (i have a working visa) and pop past europe on the way home to see family.

this is my first time travelling alone so im abit worried about what is ahead of me. im a pretty outgoing person who likes to have fun, and loves to drink amongst other things

firstly how much should i be budgeting per day in canada starting in vancouver and going east. i have about 2 months free accomodation in montreal with relatives. im staying in gastown first off and want to know if its safe. furthermore when hostels refer to "communal shower" does this mean camp showers (i.e everyone showering together) or just the fact that we have to share

secondly should i be worried about my safety, i.e petty crime etc

and lastly is it really expensive to drink in canada (i am willing to do the bottle o stop beforehand)

thankyou in advance for all your suggestions and advice
franky84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2005, 10:17 AM   #2
franky84
Members

sorry but i forgot to add a very stupid question about the weather, umm im very aware that its extremely cold!, but how much clothing needs to be worn around october in western canada.... i know that sound soooo stupid, but us sydneysiders dont understand the concept of cold weather (our daily temps for the past month have been like 20 degrees C) and ive never been in anything under the zero mark