Ok guys I need some input...PLEASE! - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Members Lounge > General Travel Tips, Education, Advice > General Travel Tips and Advice
Register All Albums FAQDonate Community Calendar

General Travel Tips and Advice Have you traveled before?- Please share your tips and advice with fellow Tpunks!

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 03-15-2005, 09:03 PM   #1
foofiter
T-PUNK VICE ADMIRAL

Send a message via AIM to foofiter Send a message via MSN to foofiter Send a message via Yahoo to foofiter Send a message via Skype™ to foofiter
Question

Ok this is gonna be sorta long but please bare with me.

I am having a serious internal conflict here and I would like some input.

I am graduating college soon and I am going to be working for a Financial Planning firm (i.e. working for rich people managing money...). My degree is in Finance. The more I work in offices the more I feel stuck. I work to live and I live to work. I don't mind working its just the restrictions of a long term job that bother me. I just feel like there is something better that I could be doing. I believe that travel is it. I truly would like to sell everything I have and leave tomorrow and never to return (at least not for a LONG time). These are the options I am weighing in my mind:

1. Continue to work and do the traditional career, 9 to 5 crap and travel 2 weeks out of the year...
2. Get my MBA in Germany from Schiller and hopefully land a job somewhere outside the USA (that involves travel) where I get more vacation time to travel. I consider this the "middle of the road" choice. This will require a TON of student loans (in addition to the mountain I have now) therefore restricting my ability to travel (for long periods) greatly.