How to avoid paranoia during the backpacking trip. - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Where ya going? & Specific country info! > Asia

Asia Truly...a different world. Kazakhstan, Japan, and everything in between. Mekong River, Central Asia deserts, sticky rice, ancient traditions, temples, tuk-tuk...

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 04-06-2009, 11:46 AM   #1
rockababes

Send a message via AIM to rockababes Send a message via Yahoo to rockababes
Default How to avoid paranoia during the backpacking trip.

So how do you avoid being paranoid and just focus on sucking the travel experience?

I'm ready to go backpacking in SE Asia next month, excited and scared. This is my first time and I don't really want to get carried away by those people around me who keep on giving me warnings trying to scare me and all that.

For those ladies who have traveled alone? How did you deal with the feeling of being alone far away from your home?I'm kinda imagining that kind of feeling when I won't be able to sleep, you know being miles away and don't know anyone.

I've just watched this Hostel movie Part 1 and 2, kinda scary but It's just a movie. Someone told me it's based on a true story.

Your thoughts?
Old 04-06-2009, 01:52 PM   #2
Canadian Bacon
Artist of Life

It's probably natural to be paranoid after you step off the plane/train. Only after you'e have a few beers, gotten used to the local environment, started meeting some people, etc... that you will start to relax.

The trick is to keep your guard up when you are having a good time, are relaxed and 'nothing can happen'.

And I'm pretty sure your hostel isn't actually some kind of organ processing plant... they probably make enough of a killing of you anyway, monetarily.