98% excited, 2% nervous - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Members Lounge > Budget Travel Community > General Discussions
Register All Albums FAQDonate Community Calendar

General Discussions ANYTHING GOES HERE, BABY! Woot! Woot! Need I say more?!

BOOYAHKASHAA!

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 06-22-2007, 10:15 AM   #1
viciousmissfit
Members

Default 98% excited, 2% nervous

Hello everyone!

My friend and I have finally gotten our sh*t toegther and bought tickets to go to Europe. I have been thinking about it for years, and I previously stayed in Germany for a few months. But. . this time we'll be backpacking. So I'm basically a newbie with no clue. We're leaving Sept 3 and returning Oct 29th.

As far as an itinerary, I don't want to plan too much or too little. We've decided on naming cities we'd like to visit (roughly) and then kind of playing it by ear. Is that a good idea or a bad idea?
I figure we'll meet a lot of people when we go; we plan on staying in hostels. I don't want to be chained to reservations anywhere. But, has anyone had any experience with booking hostels only a few days in advance. I went to the travelpunk site, but it seemed like some of the links were just hotels. We're looking to stay someplace cheap and with other people in their 20s. It seemed like a lot of places are booked already!

I know how to keep my travelling stuff and money safe, and any other good advice for newbies would be much appreciated!!

Thanks guys

^V^icious
viciousmissfit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 10:21 AM   #2
lauren313
Tpunk Senior Moderators

I think at that time of year, you'll probably be alright without booking really far in advance. It's not the peak summer season or anything, so it should be ok! Maybe if you're worried, you can just book one or two days in advance.