International Driver's License - TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards!

Go Back   TravelPUNK Backpacker College Student Budget Travel Message Boards! > Backpacker College Student Travel Message Boards > Travel Transportation
Register All Albums FAQDonate Community Calendar

Travel Transportation Airs, Trains, Buses, and Boats, what should I do ? What´s a Eurail Pass? How to rent a car abroad ? Is it safe to take the bus?

Raileurope.com: See Europe by train

Old 08-28-2006, 02:58 PM   #1
Wayner
Members

I'm thinking about getting a DL for driving in Germany. I'm a good driver and to quote a line from Top Gun, "I have the need for speed" so I would like to go on the autobahn around Frankfurt to see what it's like to go 140 mph. Is this a bad idea since I'm not from Europe and is it hard to get a overseas DL there?

Any recco's on where I could rent a quick car would also be appreciated.

Wayner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2006, 03:56 PM   #2
goyincognito
TPunk Recognized

Send a message via AIM to goyincognito Send a message via MSN to goyincognito

This isn't an answer to your question, but I figure I should say it anyway:

The autobahn in that area has speed limits now around 110 or 120 kph...and has for quite some time. That said--most people I saw were driving all the way up to 200kph or higher, but it's drive at your own risk since the speed limits could get you pinched by the cops or, in the case of an accident, would probably make for a potent argument against you with regards to insurance payments or if you took someone else out in an accident.
Old 08-28-2006, 10:43 PM   #3
kingcrazylegs
***** gear guru

Send a message via ICQ to kingcrazylegs Send a message via AIM to kingcrazylegs Send a message via MSN to kingcrazylegs Send a message via Yahoo to kingcrazylegs